TDIH: February 16, 1975


Coming from a 32nd place starting position, Benny Parsons takes the lead on lap 198 en route to winning the 1975 Daytona 500. He would capitalize on a spun and stalled David Pearson, passing him before turn 3 and cruising to victory. Continue reading


TDIH: February 7, 1982


Driving in his first race for DiGard Motorsports, Bobby Allison wins the 1982 Busch Clash at Daytona. Starting from 12th place, he would lead the final 16 of 20 laps for the victory, and collect a $50000 prize in the process. Continue reading

TDIH: January 26, 1974


Cale Yarborough wins the Winston Western 500 at Riverside, with Richard Petty a close second in the season opener of 1974. Starting alongside polesitter David Pearson, the #11 Kar-Kare Chevrolet would lead the final 72 laps en route to victory. Continue reading

TDIH: January 23, 1972


Richard Petty wins the opening event of 1972, the Winston Western 500 at Riverside. He took over the lead with 30 laps remaining, pulling out a 61.5s lead on Bobby Allison in taking the victory. Continue reading

TDIH: Janurary 21, 1973


The 1973 running of the Winston Western 500 was one of firsts. New Jersey native Mark Donohue led the final 75 laps, taking the checkered flag an entire lap ahead of second place driver Bobby Allison. Continue reading

TDIH: January 19, 1975


Bobby Allison dominates the Winston Western 500 at Riverside, starting from pole and leading 173 laps of 191 en route to Victory Lane. This would be the first of three victories that year for the Matador. Continue reading

TDIH: January 18, 1976


The 1976 season opened with the Winston Western 500, and with it the start of Roger Penske’s first full season as an owner. This would prove to be the last race for the Penske Matador though, the team switching to Mercury for the remaining 30 races. Continue reading