TDIH: February 19, 1989


Darrell Waltrip, in his seventeenth attempt, finally wins the Daytona 500. The third year Rick Hendrick driver would lead the way, as teammates Ken Schrader and Geoff Bodine finished second and fourth respectively. Continue reading


TDIH: February 8, 1987


Bill Elliott wins the 1987 Busch Clash at Daytona, in record fashion. Having drawn the pole position, he led the final 13 laps and set an unbeatable pace, averaging 197.802mph over the 20 lap dash. When the green flag dropped on the day, Terry Labonte and Ricky Rudd each met the wall before turn one, after incidental contact with Dale Earnhardt. Racing back around the 2.5 mile track, Darrell Waltrip jumped into the lead, while Elliott dropped back to sixth. He would make his way back to the front by lap 8, and not look back again until the checkered flag waved. For his work, Elliott collected the $50000 prize for the victory, and an additional $15000 for leading lap 10 and $10000 for lap 15. Returning a week later for the Daytona 500, ‘Awesome’ Bill would sit on pole with a blistering one-lap speed of 210.364mph, en route to his second Harley J. Earl Trophy in three years.

‘Hollywood’ dazzles at Riverside


With seven victories, nobody won more than Tim Richmond in 1986. In the season-ending Winston Western 500, he would outduel Dale Earnhardt and Geoff Bodine in the closing laps, capturing win number seven at Riverside. Continue reading