TDIH: February 26, 1967


Mario Andretti and Holman-Moody dominate the 9th annual Daytona 500, easily capturing victory in 1967. Andretti would lead 112 laps en route to becoming the first foreign-born winner of the 500, while teammate Fred Lorenzen led 13 laps in finishing second. Continue reading


TDIH: February 22, 1970


Driving for Petty Enterprises, Pete Hamilton wins the twelth annual Daytona 500. This was the first career victory for the 1968 Rookie of the Year, it also gave the Plymouth Superbird a win in it’s debut race. Continue reading

TDIH: February 20, 1972


AJ Foyt wins the 1972 Daytona 500, putting his name in the record books. Having already won the Indianapolis 500 (’61, ’64, ’67) and 24 Hours of Le Mans (’67), his victory in the Daytona 500 would make him the only driver to win all three events. Continue reading

TDIH: February 19, 1989


Darrell Waltrip, in his seventeenth attempt, finally wins the Daytona 500. The third year Rick Hendrick driver would lead the way, as teammates Ken Schrader and Geoff Bodine finished second and fourth respectively. Continue reading

TDIH: February 18, 1962


After a blown engine ended his day a year earlier, Fireball Roberts returned in 1962 to win the Daytona 500 in commanding fashion. He would lead 144 of 200 laps, and cross the line nearly 30 seconds ahead of Richard Petty. Continue reading

TDIH: February 16, 1975


Coming from a 32nd place starting position, Benny Parsons takes the lead on lap 198 en route to winning the 1975 Daytona 500. He would capitalize on a spun and stalled David Pearson, passing him before turn 3 and cruising to victory. Continue reading

TDIH: February 15, 1998


In his 20th attempt, Dale Earnhardt Sr. finally wins the Harley J. Earl Trophy, in the 40th running of the Daytona 500. He would lead five times for a total of 107 laps, with the race ending under the caution flag sealing the victory for #3. Continue reading

TDIH: February 14, 1965


Fred Lorenzen wins the rain-shortened Daytona 500, the first for driver and car owners Holman-Moody. Reduced to 133 laps, ‘Fast’ Freddie would lead the final 15 laps, and hold off a hard charging Marvin Panch for the victory. Continue reading

TDIH: February 9, 2008


In his first start for Hendrick Motorsports, Dale Earnhardt Jr. powers his way to victory in the Budweiser Shootout. Pulling away from the pack coming to the flag, the #88 National Guard Impala SS would win by over a car length. Continue reading

TDIH: February 8, 1987


Bill Elliott wins the 1987 Busch Clash at Daytona, in record fashion. Having drawn the pole position, he led the final 13 laps and set an unbeatable pace, averaging 197.802mph over the 20 lap dash. When the green flag dropped on the day, Terry Labonte and Ricky Rudd each met the wall before turn one, after incidental contact with Dale Earnhardt. Racing back around the 2.5 mile track, Darrell Waltrip jumped into the lead, while Elliott dropped back to sixth. He would make his way back to the front by lap 8, and not look back again until the checkered flag waved. For his work, Elliott collected the $50000 prize for the victory, and an additional $15000 for leading lap 10 and $10000 for lap 15. Returning a week later for the Daytona 500, ‘Awesome’ Bill would sit on pole with a blistering one-lap speed of 210.364mph, en route to his second Harley J. Earl Trophy in three years.